Review : Landline by Rainbow Rowell

e5d06c2085b2c161b0d79275a435ce17 (1)

Synopsis

Landline is an adult novel and is an=bout a woman, Georgie McCool whose marriage is going downhill. She believes that she is holding her husband, Neal, back and that he and their two daughters would be better off without her.

Georgie  is a TV comedy writer and works very long hours. She is a writer on a show and is waiting for her big break when she (and her best friend Seth) can have their own show. She lives in California but Neal is from Omaha. In December 2013, they decide to visit Neal’s mother in Omaha for Christmas.

Georgie’s big break comes right before they’re to leave for their vacation. She has the opportunity to write her own show. The problem is this means she can’t go to Omaha.

After Neal and her daughters leave, Georgie discovers a yellow landline that allows her to talk to Neal in the past. She now has the chance to fix her marriage before it starts but she has to decide if that is what she wants.

My Thoughts

I feel like the the characters in this book were very well developed. They had depth and back stories which made me understand them more and made it easy to relate to them. Overall they were more realistic than you’d see in a YA novel.

The writing was awesome. I mean it’s Rainbow Rowell and I love her writing so I didn’t expect any less from this book.

One problem I had with this book was I had with this book was I felt it was kinda anti-climatic. There was no point where I was wondering what was going to happen. Nothing had me on edge and the outcome was a little predictable.

Overall I really liked this book but it wasn’t awesome.

Rating: 3.5 stars

Have you read Landline? What are your thoughts on it?

Keep Curious!

 

One thought on “Review : Landline by Rainbow Rowell”

Leave a Reply

