Review : The Cardturner by Louis Sachar

cardturner-cover-image

Synopsis

Alton Richards is seventeen years old. His great uncle , Lester Trapp is rich and very fond of the game bridge. Uncle Lester is blind and therefore needs to use a cardturner in his games of bridge. After a disagreement he decides he needs a new cardturner. Under the influence of his mother,  who is in pursuit of Lester’s money, Alton takes up the position. However, the experience is more than Alton expected.

My Thoughts

I didn’t know if I was going to like a book about bridge but I say I loved this book, I mean I LOVED IT. It made me want to learn how to play bridge and become the best bridge player that ever lived. I  liked the writing style and how easy it was to read.

Alton was okay but I really liked Lester and the relationship he and Alton formed. Lester also said some things in the=is book that had me thinking – they were pretty.

The whole story was just so much more than bridge. It tugs at the heart strings a little but not too much. It wasn’t a book with a lot of twists and turns. It was just a good book that wasn’t too heavy and definitely worth the read.

Rating: 4 stars

Have you read this book? What did you think about it?

Keep Curious!

 

Leave a Reply

